Modify User Permissions

This article explains how to modify a user's permissions.


As an administrator in an organization you are able to edit your own user permissions as well as for those who are in your organization.

Instructions

Modify your own user permissions (admin):

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. On the User tab scroll down to the User Permissions and edit as needed.
    • Administrator - Administrator means that the user will have full access to UtiliSync. This will
      be for the users you trust or that need admin permissions.
    • 811 Locate User- If you are using UtiliSync for Locate Requests, then you will want to turn this ON for users who will be fulfilling the locate requests.
    • User Form Permission- If View Only is selected the User will not be able to complete forms. This is for users who will only be viewing data. If Power User is selected, they will be able to complete forms. If the user will be completing inspections using UtiliSync they need to be a Power User.

Modify user permission within organization (admin):

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Select the Organization tab.
  3. Click Manage Users.
  4. Select the user for which you want to modify user permissions.
  5. Click Open User Details.
    • If you want to Remove Admin Permissions you can do that as well from here.
  6. Scroll down to and edit the User Permissions.
    • Administrator - Administrator means that the user will have full access to UtiliSync. This will
      be for the users you trust or that need admin permissions.
    • 811 Locate User- If you are using UtiliSync for Locate Requests, then you will want to turn this ON for users who will be fulfilling the locate requests.
    • User Form Permission:
      • If View Only is selected the User will not be able to complete forms. This is for users who will only be viewing data.
      • If Power User is selected, they will be able to complete forms. If the user will be completing inspections using UtiliSync they need to be a Power User.
  7. Then click Save.

Success! You have modified the user’s permissions.